Why “Where the Wild Things Are” is the movie I’m looking forward to the most this year

where-the-wild-things-are2

Click picture to watch video

There are many reasons why I’m looking forward to Spike Jonze’s adaptation of Where the Wild Things Are. However, for the simplest explanation, I only ask that you watch the above, recently released, trailer. I’ll wait while you do…

The best way to describe it was already done by Devin Faraci at chud.com.

“I actually got choked up watching the trailer for Spike Jonze’s Where the Wild Things Are. And not because it’s sad or I have a deep personal connection to the book (closest I come is that my freshman dorm at SUNY Albany had Wild Things paintings on the walls). I choked up because that’s simply my reaction to things of incredible beauty and emotion.”

I do actually have a personal connection to the book, as it was my favorite as a child, and either read it or had it read to me more times than I could ever count, so my joy at seeing what looks like an adaptation done perfectly is, if anything, even greater.

If you’re still not convinced, check out some stills from the film and just tell me it doesn’t look like one of the most beautifully shot movies ever made.

wt-sky

Wow…

wt-monster

Just wow…

wt-desert

Seriously, wow…

Click here for even more images and links to bigger versions for use as backgrounds and such.

~ by flexifish87 on March 29, 2009.

2 Responses to “Why “Where the Wild Things Are” is the movie I’m looking forward to the most this year”

  1. I remember reading this to you all the time. It was my favorite also. Would love to see the movie with you.

  2. […] Jonze’s Everyone Poops… This definitely falls under the WTF? category. I recently posted the amazing trailer for Where the Wild Things Are, and explained why it’s the movie I’m […]

Leave a Reply

 
